Lachit Borphukan

11Feb10

First things first – I started this blog because Dave asked me to publish covers of comic books in India. Unlike comic books in America and the rest of the world – where characters are superheroes, futuristic or other planetary – almost all comic books in India are about well known people. Or at least they should be well known. Dave, here you go!

The first comic book cover

According to wikipedia – “Lachit Borphukan was a commander and Borphukan in the Ahom kingdom known in particular for his successful leadership in the 1671 Battle of Saraighat that thwarted a strong attempt by Mughal forces under the command of Ramsingh I to take back Kamrup”. Ahom kingdom is modern-day Assam. It resisted Mughal expansion during the medieval times and therefore the culture there is very different from rest of North India.

Before I saw this comic book, I really didnt know all of this.

Note : The book store employees wouldnt let me use my iphone because the owner apparently doesnt want pictures being taken in the store. So I’ll have to find another way.

2 Responses to “Lachit Borphukan”

  1. 1 Dave Ak

    Brilliant Vijay! I can see that store owners don’t want people coming in and taking pictures. Maybe buy one and photograph it at home? Maybe I could send you some money and you could buy a few and post them to me?

  2. 2 m kalita

    ok result


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

